The Weight of the Matter in Cocaine Possession

The penalties for cocaine possession largely depend on the amount of the controlled substance found in your possession and the number of previous offenses, if any. However, it is considered possession with intent to sell or distribute if it is beyond a certain weight, and in such cases even first offenses can result in serious consequences. This is a much more serious case than simple cocaine possession

According to Part I, Title XV, Chapter 94C Section 32E(b) of the Massachusetts General Laws, a person found in possession of cocaine of more than 14 grams may be considered as a drug trafficker regardless of the actual intention of possession. This includes 14 grams or more of substances containing cocaine, so it doesn’t even have to be pure cocaine. Anyone convicted of cocaine possession in the amount of 14 grams or more will be required to serve a minimum of 3 years in prison with a maximum sentence of 15 years, the latter being imposed only when possession exceeds 200 grams. Fines of $2,500 to $50,000 may also be imposed. In general, a conviction will also result in the suspension of the defendant’s driver’s license.

Cocaine possession in Massachusetts, or possession of any Class A or Class B controlled substance for that matter, is a felony no matter what the amount. Cocaine is considered a Class B controlled substance. The mandatory minimum penalties for trafficking apply even for first offenders, so it is important to seek legal counsel immediately if you are charged with trafficking in cocaine. Life-changing penalties can result from a trafficking conviction, and every effort should be made to challenge the particulars of the case with the objective of a more favorable judgement

With the right cocaine possession attorney, you will have access to the resources you need to fully research the details of your case in order to have the charges dismissed or reduced, as well as negotiating with prosecutors.